Kätlin Kaldmaa

Kätlin KaldmaaKätlin Kaldmaa (1970) is an Estonian poet, writer, translator and literary critic. She has published four collections of poetry Larii-laree (1996), One is None (2008), Worlds, Unseen (2009), and The Alphabet of Love (2012); two books for children, Four Children and Murka (2010) and The Story of Somebody Nobodysdaughter’s Father (2012), an autobiographical work of non-fiction Happiness is the Matter of Choice (2013) and the novel No Butterflies in Iceland (2013). She has translated over 40 books into Estonian by authors such as Jeanette Winterson, Aphra Behn, Michael Ondaatje, James Meek, Ali Smith, Meg Rosoff, Madeleine Thien, Goran Simić and Gabriel García Márquez. Her own poems have been translated into Arabic, English, Finnish, French, German, Korean, Latin, Japanese, Russian, Slovenian, and Spanish. In 2012 she won the Friedebert Tuglas short story award. She is the President of Estonian PEN.

Miriam McIlfatrick-Ksenofontov (Northern Ireland, 1961) is a translator and lecturer living in Estonia. She lectures on Irish literature and Textual Analysis at Tallinn University and is currently conducting research in the poetics of translation and creative approaches to translating poetry. Her scholarly interests include translation theory and practice, the poetics of translation, poetry translation, the oral poetic tradition, writing as creative process, and English-language and Estonian poetry.